The chart editor screen is where you will spend most of your time creating and editing charts for your production. Familiarize yourself with the editor buttons below.
Select the lock mode to easily navigate through scenes and charts without editing. In order to edit a chart you will need to deselect the lock mode. On an iPad, use a single figer swipe to move one chart and a two finger swipe to move between scenes.
Use the Editor View icon to select how you would like to view the production. Charts will allow you to edit charts, Script will allow you to import and notate a script or Score will allow you to edit the Staging Score. The Charts and Script/Charts and Score options are only for viewing. If you want to edit a Chart/Script/Score, it will need to be done in their corresponding editor.
Select this option to add a new chart to your production. A blank chart will provide you with your permanent layer with nothing on the Scenic or Performer layers. A duplicate chart will give you an identical copy to the previous chart. The Next Chart option will give you a chart identical to the previous chart without the previous chart's text boxes or arrows.
Use this layer to place scenery or set pieces that move throughout your production. Avoid placing actors on this layer and place them on the Actor Layer instead. This will help avoid confusion with actor placement.
Select this icon if you wish to add arrows or shapes to your production. Often arrows are used to indicate actor and set piece traffic patterns. Shapes can be used as generic set pieces. Shapes and Drawing tools can be used on both the Actor Layer and Scenic Layer.
The Set Pieces icon will take will take you to all stock set pieces as well as any set pieces you have created in the Set Pieces menu in the Production Settings menu. We suggest using the Scenic Layer to place set pieces so they don't get confused with the actors.
The undo button allows you to undo an action. The number next to the icon indicates how many undo actions are possible. Redo and undo actions are only saved while working in a chart. Once the chart has been exited or the page refreshed, you will lose the ability to undo or redo past actions.
The redo button allows you to redo something that was undone. The number next to the icon indicates how many redo actions are possible. Redo and undo actions are only saved while working in a chart. Once the chart has been exited or the page refreshed, you will lose the ability to undo or redo past actions.
This button will allow you to show or hide the editor drawer that appears on the bottom of the screen when selected. The editor drawer is helpful for entering cues, editing angles of performers and set pieces on stage and also specifying multiple layers of actors or set pieces.
This icon will allow you to save the production as a pdf (if you are the owner or given access by the owner). Select the option after selecting this icon for the pdf you would like to create. Remember, saving a production as a pdf is helpful to print, share and use as record, but a saved PDF will not be able to imported and edited in Stage Write in the future. Stage Write production files are saved in the cloud and cannot be downloaded to use in any other application.